On September 24, President Trump issued a revised Travel Ban via Presidential

Proclamation.  It is not immediately clear why the latest ban was issued by Proclamation

instead of Executive Order.


The ban applies indefinitely to 8 countries: Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen. In light of this Proclamation, the U.S. Supreme Court ordered the parties to the original suits to file letter briefs addressing whether Trump v. International Refugee Assistance Project, et al. (Case No. 16-1436) and Trump v. Hawaii, et al. (Case No. 16-1540) are now moot. The letter briefs are due on October 5.

The Court also removed these cases from the oral argument calendar pending further court order.